New Faces at
Ontario Arts Council

Ontario Arts Council (OAC) has several new faces these days, including a new Executive Director. Donna M. Scott assumed this role in April 1999, replacing Gwen Setterfield who retired after 18 years with OAC.
Scott’s appointment was greeted with some optimism from the arts community, mainly because of her tenure as Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts from 1994 to 1998. Prior to that she had been Vice-President of Maclean Hunter Publishing Company. She is the founder and former publisher of Flare, a Canadian monthly fashion magazine.
Over the years, Scott has served on several arts boards of directors, including Canadian Stage, Canadian Music Centre, Ontario College of Art and Toronto Arts Foundation. Also, she is currently on the Dean’s Committee Cabinet of the University of Toronto Faculty of Music.
Two new members have recently been added to the 12-member OAC Board. Both have strong connections with the arts. Julia Foster of Toronto is a former chair of the Board of Governors of the Stratford Festival, and has served on boards of the Toronto International Film Festival and Shaw Festival. She will serve as Vice-Chair of OAC. Peter Pennington of Fenelon Falls is a painter, printmaker and designer, as well as the co-founder and former chair of the Kawartha Arts Festival.
Other current OAC Board members are Henry N.R. Jackman, Chair, and Linda Frum (Toronto), Sally Greisman Brenzel (Toronto), John Hugguns (Timmins), Douglas Lawson (Windsor), Marnie Richards (Brampton), John Rozeluk (London), Christine Schubert (Mississauga), Stella Torontow (Ottawa) and Denise Truax (Sudbury).